Divisions / Centres / Units

The School of Public Health has been organised into 6 academic divisions:

In 2014, the School was official designated as a WHO Collaborating Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Control. The designation of HKU School of Public Health as a WHO Collaborating Centre is the first of such kind at the University. The WHO Collaborating Centre will coordinate research on the control and prevention of infectious diseases and providing local and regional education and training under the joint directorship of Professor Gabriel M Leung and Professor Wing-hong Seto.

HKU and the Institut Pasteur have jointly supported a research unit in HKU since October 1999. In December 2013 the University of Hong Kong (HKU) and the Institut Pasteur renewed their partnership by establishing the Hong Kong University-Pasteur Research Pole (HKU-PRP) under the School of Public Health. HKU-PRP aims to be a distinctive medical research laboratory with the goal to improve health by developing new ways to treat diseases.

The School of Public Health also hosts an WHO H5 reference laboratory, and has a major role in the HKU State Key Laboratory of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

Research in the School of Public Health has been organized to fall mainly under two broad interdisciplinary clusters, Influenza and Other Infections of Public Health Significance, and
Non-Communicable Diseases in Global Health.

In addition, the school has a major role in the HKU-wide Strategic Research Theme on Public Health, and two large research centres in the Faculty of Medicine namely the Public Health Research Centre and the Centre of Influenza Research.

The Centre for Psycho-Oncology Research & Training (CePORT) was established in January 2002 aiming to develop the evidence base for secondary and tertiary prevention, primarily psychosocial, in Asian cancer patients.

Recognising the need for core support in biostatistics and clinical research methodology, in January 2015 the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine created the Biostatistics and Clinical Research Methodology Unit (BCRMU) to provide support on quantitative research methods. 

BIGtheme.net Joomla 3.3 Templates