Professor JSM Peiris as one of the founding members of the newly established Hong Kong Academy of Sciences


Our School Director, Professor JSM Peiris, is amongst the 27 founding members of The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong.

Established in late 2015, The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong is committed to promoting the development and advancement of science and technology in Hong Kong, and fostering Hong Kong as a centre of scientific excellence. Professor Lap-Chee Tsui, the fourteenth President and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hong Kong, is the founding President of the Academy.

On 6 December 2015, the Academy hosted the first Science and Technology Innovation Summit to explore various topics of scientific significance to Hong Kong and the region. The Summit was officiated by the Honorable CY Leung, The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong SAR, Professor Wan Gang, Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference and Minister of Science and Technology, Professor Bai Chunli, President of Chinese Academy of Science, and Professor Lap-Chee Tsui, President of The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong.

Photo highlights of the Inauguration Ceremony of The Academy of Sciences and the Summit held on 5 December and 6 December 2015 respectively are as below.